I found a 1-bedroom (saves me $125 per month over a 2-bedroom, which is still a net gain even with the $150 moving charge to a different apartment in the same building when Dale gets here). No covered parking, but there’s a plug-in. Gas is covered. And it’s walkable to downtown, albeit not a short walk–actually, it’s not all that far from where I’m currently staying. It’s also walkable to BearTooth – the theatre pub – and therefore Bosco’s – the game and comic shop – and Kaladi’s Coffee. So, woohoo! And if I ever learn to cross-country ski, I could theoretically get to work that way.

So that’s a weight off my shoulders. I’ve got to pull together enough cash to pay the down payment with a money order, but I can do it.

I also have a bank. They’ll be really pleased when I show up with a lease tomorrow or Friday, because they didn’t like giving me an account with only a Pittsburgh address.

I technically have a lease right now. It’s for September 11-18.

I hate to jinx it, but it’s almost like things are coming together…

I’m off to find an ATM and a place to buy money orders. And then back to sign the lease. Yay!

