Thanks to the wonders of Craigslist and my so-far amazing luck at finding awesome people in Anchorage, I’m going to have a bed tomorrow night. Yes, an actual honest-to-goodness mattress, boxspring, and frame. It was a guest bed, so not heavily used. And the frame’s pretty freaking cool, I think: it was handmade from small logs. It’s super sturdy and very Alaskan looking. (Not that “Alaskan looking” was a requirement, but it’s a nice bonus.)

Not only that, but the couple selling it are bringing it to me. Plus, they’re throwing in sheets and a comforter. They’re moving from a house to a triplex–and expecting a baby (yes, I’m guessing/hoping only one of them is doing any heavy lifting)–so they’re selling a whole bunch of furniture. I may end up picking up a sofa and loveseat (or one of the two) from them, as well as a plant table. They have good taste in furniture, a big vehicle, and no cats, so this seems like a potentially fantastic match. (They do have a dog, but she’s super cute [yes, irrelevant, I know] and didn’t bring on any heavy allergies or anything.) Plus, I don’t know, I feel good about buying furniture from a couple that’s going to have a baby–it helps me, in that I get furniture, and it helps them, in that they have less stuff to worry about moving and more cash to use for setting up the new place and baby stuff.

And they’re so super nice. I kind of want to be best friends with them. Seriously.

I don’t think I can really impress upon you what a difference a real sleeping surface is going to make to my quality of life; it will be every bit as big as the air filter–which drowns out my upstairs neighbor so nicely–possibly more. I admit, I’ve been kind of edgy, these past few days–I didn’t get into my character well on Saturday (though I still had fun), I didn’t accomplish what I’d hoped to on Sunday, and I’ve felt groggy and socially inept all work week. I’m just exhausted, and it’s catching up with me. I hope to be on track by Friday.

Tired or not, I made lunch for my department (that sounds like a big job, but there are only four of us) on Monday, and that seemed to go over well–either they’re very polite, or they like my cooking. :) I’m still learning how to do all the pieces of my job; I’ve gotten to the point where I feel a little overwhelmed, but it’s probably just surprising that it’s taken this long. I feel like I’ve learned a whole ton of stuff, and I know there’s at least another ton more. It’s sort of like going up one of those hills that look like they’re about to crest in just a few more feet, only they keep failing to do so; I felt like I was doing really well, until I realized I had so much further to go, I guess? Like the hill, it’s not really a bad thing; one climbs a hill for the challenge/view, and I wouldn’t have taken this job if I didn’t want to learn all of this stuff. Once I know all of it, I’m just going to go off and learn other, possibly-relevant-but-possibly-not stuff–there’s no need to rush, really.

I found out that the Alaska Bird Club meets kind of close to where I work, on the first Tuesday of the month. I think I may stop in. For some reason, they have a blurb on their website about amateur radio operators, which I think is cool, but I’m really hoping they want volunteers to work with the birds. I don’t need to adopt more of them, but I would enjoy helping to socialize the ones that are waiting for homes, you know? So that’s a potential activity.

One of the librarians I like hanging out with after work (not that I’ve hung out with any and not enjoyed it!) is getting her tonsils taken out. So she’s out of commission for a little while. But I’m hoping she’ll be feeling way better and up to carving pumpkins next week–if anyone else wants in, let me know, and bring a chair. :)

As far as other holiday goodness, I have my Halloween costume all picked out, and I’m thinking of putting a sign up on my balcony, with some sort of bell-pull or something that trick-or-treaters can use to ask for candy without coming into the building–I already have Halloween decorations on my inside door, for in-building kids. I’m really hoping some kind of fun Halloween night party/activity will pop up, so I can go show off my costume!

The birds are doing great. (My coworkers are so sweet. They ask about them and listen while I go on and on like a crazy bird lady!) I’ve got a smaller-than-ideal cage set up for Phoebe, during the day, so she and Grace can’t fight, but I let them sleep in the same cage together at night; I am going to look into a big, two-sided flight cage or something for them, longer term, but this works OK for the time being. And they’re all up on tables, off the floor, to avoid drafts, though they have a ladder for floor access when I’m around. Their wing feathers and Phoebe’s tail are starting to grow in, so I remain nervous about night frights and blood feather problems. Then again, given how much light I’m leaving on, how much calmer they’re getting, and the fact that I never turn off their radio, I’m really hopeful that we’re past the bi-weekly vet visits, now. I’ve got vitamins in their water, to help them grow in the healthiest feathers they can. So, fingers crossed, things should be good on the bird front. I may get one more lamp, to make sure they’re super well lit through the winter. But, yeah, happy explorer-birds.

