It has not escaped my attention that our first winter of owning a house is ALSO on track to be a record-breaking year for snowfall in Anchorage (here are our current numbers, look for “snowfall”). I just spent a bit more than an hour shoveling, after pulling a bunch of snow off of the canopy(?) over our stairs and porch, because there was more than a foot of snow up there, with more falling, and it isn’t sturdy enough for that. I didn’t quite finish, but I did most of it. (I’m driving, if we go anywhere tomorrow, because I didn’t dig out the passenger side of the car. :P Also, the piles of snow keep encroaching on the parking area, which I only fixed on the driver’s side; it was depressing, working on the passenger side, because the snow on the other side of the fence is now at least as high as the fence itself. Also, I didn’t dig out the path to the trash bins. … So there’s a bit more left to do.)

I am so cold right now. I’m bundled up, wearing socks, drinking hot tea, and shivering. So maybe I overdid it. :/ I just took a break to turn on my electric blanket, so bed will be nice and warm. :) Also? I’m going to have forearms like Popeye. ;)

Anyway, PHOTOS! (In order from top left to bottom right, they are: Me, giving the snow pile from the canopy(?) some context; same thing, but sideways(?); our back door, from the other side of the snow pile (that tool is a roof rake—I didn’t know what those were until this winter); the driver’s side of the car, post-shoveling; the view from the porch, post-shoveling; the view from the path, looking out over the yard at the shed (the camera is at Coral-eye-height, and I apologize for the quality, but the battery was dying).)

If anyone’s wondering about the contractor, that should probably be its own post, but I’m here, so let’s go:

The painter who came in to fix the last painter’s crappy workmanship… uh, didn’t finish? We think he said he’d be back Monday? Which can’t be right, since all the work has to be done before then. Whatever.

We have a new furnace and water heater. Both seem to work pretty well, so far. It’s set up so adding a third zone won’t be a problem, on the furnace end. (Yes, it’ll take lots of copper pipe, to actually run it, but the furnace will at least support that. So, when/if we finish our basement, the whole thing will be heated. Nice, yeah? In the meantime, we have a very nice electric heater for supplemental heat in the craft room. They also ran an air intake alongside the vent [hopefully in a smart way], so we can plug up the GIANT HOLE IN OUR BASEMENT WALL that the previous owners had made, in order to make the house safer to sell. [There was no dedicated air intake for the old furnace.]) The living room pipes are less noisy, but the entryway pipes are more noisy. Weird.

The contractor left one of his electric heaters in the basement, a ladder in our back yard (I think you can see it in one of the photos?), the combo lock he used to get in and out of the house (you definitely can see that in the photos), and two lengths of copper pipe. We’re pretty sure the pipe is ours. We’re also pretty sure he’ll come back for the rest.

So it’s not over, precisely, but it’s close. :)

